Begleitmusik zu einer Dichtspielszene (1994)

(Accompaniment to a poetic scene)
Für zwölf Instrumente und sechs Szenen ad libitum 

An explicit reference to Arnold Schönberg’s “Accompaniment to a Cinematographic Scene”, this composition was conceived as an open-structured monodrama. It presents a transparent and phantasmagorical work where there are no actors but only noises, sounds, steps, and voices that can be interpreted in various ways: light design or video; dancers or mimes. The six scenes do not refer to any particular event but they each possess an existence, a pertinent temporal lapse that marks the fundamental element of the natural musical process. These powerful micro-cycles sweep through scene after scene of pure sound, naïve and mysterious, made up of tears and water, childish games and visions of death. Drawing on the full capacities of the instruments that the score was written for (five flutes, five strings, and a detailed set of percussions including a wind and rain machine, thunder sheet, sirens, carpentry saws, and bird calls), the Accompaniment to a poetic scene stylizes a reprise of twentieth century “fantasias” focussing primarily on experimental music from the 1970s, “which was too hastily forgotten before it could become a part of our cultural heritage”.

First performance:
Köln, WDR (Musik der Zeit) Funkhaus am Wallraffplatz, 21 January 1995
Ensemble Recherche
Roland Kluttig, director 

voice, cl picc, cor, trbn, tb, 2 perc, string quintet (or
[performance without video, with a reduced number of scene (even just one) is allowed]

Duration: 33’

Score number catalogue Ricordi: (136754)